Overview
When Follow up email is turned on, both the new lead and the Popl user receive an introductory email after connecting.
You can customize this intro message at any time from your Popl Dashboard to match your tone and goals.
You can toggle the follow-up email on or off in the settings of your dashboard.
You cannot edit the follow-up email in the mobile app, only the dashboard.
Note: For Free, Pro, Pro+, and Digital Business Card Teams users, if Follow up email is turned off, only new leads will receive an email containing the Popl user’s digital business card.
Event Lead Capture Teams do not have Follow up email turned on automatically, and if it is toggled off, new leads will not get an automatic email.
Team Admins
As a Digital Business Card Team Admin, you can toggle the Default Follow up email on or off for your entire team. Any Custom follow up email you set will still send if this is toggled off.
Navigate to Team Settings, and scroll to the very bottom to Automatic Lead Follow Ups to adjust this setting.
Features
Easily customize the timing and tone of your follow up emails - adjust the cadence to fit your workflow and keep leads engaged your way.
For Event Lead Capture (ELC) Teams, advanced features include creating multi-email drip campaigns with personalized follow-up options and mapping lead qualifiers to trigger specific follow-up emails with tailored content and attachments.
Schedule a delay
By default, the email is sent immediately upon lead capture without delay.
You can choose if you'd like to send the follow up email upon connection, or set a scheduled delay. You can set it by hours and/or minutes.
Email recipients
When turned on, the follow up email will be sent to each new lead as well as the Popl user's email. Choose to add Cc or Bcc recipients.
The email will be sent to any added recipients each time a new connection is made.
Filtering Leads from Follow-Up Emails (ELC Only)
To prevent certain leads from receiving follow-up emails:
Add filters to your Follow Up Email paths so that these leads do not match any path. Unmatched leads will not receive follow-up emails.
Message body
A default message is provided to get you started. You can customize the wording to match your business tone or personal style.*
Feel free to add or remove variables to personalize your message.
Available variables include:
Lead’s first name
Lead’s full name
Your digital business card URL
Your (Popl user’s) name
Tailor the message to make every follow-up feel personal and impactful. Team-specific follow-ups ensure that each email highlights the team member associated with the lead, personalizing the communication even further.
Adding attachments
You can include attachments in your follow-up emails.
Attachments are a great way to provide extra value, like PDFs, brochures, or custom content.
Keep in mind: This can be set either through a template or directly from a member’s profile.
To add an attachment:
Go to the Follow Up Email tab
Click "Add attachment" or drag and drop your file
Click "Update" to save your changes
Note: The maximum size for the attachment is 30 MB.
Preview and test your email
After customizing your follow up email, you can preview it on the right side of the screen to see how it will look.
Want to see it in action? Click Send test email at the bottom of the editing screen to send a sample to your inbox and make sure everything looks just right.
Note: Once your Follow up email is edited to your liking, make sure to click Update to save the changes.
Canceling a Follow-Up Email
Admins can cancel a follow-up email if it hasn’t been sent yet:
Navigate to the Leads page and locate the Event Flow Follow Up column for the specific lead:
Scheduled: The email is queued and can be canceled.
Sent: The email has already been sent and cannot be retracted.
To cancel a queued follow-up email:
Select the lead.
Use the bulk action bar to choose "Cancel follow-up."
The Event Flow Follow Up column will clear once the email is canceled.
Notes:
Only Full Team Admins and Subteam Admins can perform this action.
If the flow timing is set to "Immediately," emails are sent at capture, leaving little or no window to cancel.
💡 Tip
Need more help? Get support from our team
Chat with us
or email us at [email protected]









